Categories
Design Graphic Design My NEWS

Designing on Benches in Hamra Street! UPDATE!

The two benches I have designed-on and executed in Hamra street:

One is at the corner near Jack & Jones (Modca corner) and the other is facing Fransabank on the right side of the street.

The first bench tries to capture the spirit of Hamra, the energy & hype, the lights, the crowd, the restaurants and pubs during the day and at night.

While the second bench is a typographical interpretation of a quotation from Steve Jobs.

The quote says:

“You can’t connect the dots looking forward you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something” ~ Steve Jobs, Stanford Commencement Address, 2005

Once you read the quote and walk past it, you can look back at the bench and connect the black dots to read something else…

I knew I wanted to design the bench with a typographical approach using an inspirational quotation, but I couldn’t come up with anything yet that day. I woke up that morning with the sad news that Steve Jobs passed away, so it came to my mind to use one of his inspiring quotes. I thought it would also pay tribute to him that way too. It is a really interesting that even by passing away, he inspired me to do this design.

I hope you enjoy both benches.

To view the Interview on Helwé Beirut at LBCI, please check the link below:

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10151237016269758